Two Media Lab students selected for Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship 2023


Photo by Richard Horvath on Unsplash

Photo by Richard Horvath on Unsplash

Two PhD students from the MIT Media Lab's Camera Culture research group, Tzofi Klinghoffer and Kushagra Tiwary, are among the winners of the 2023 Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship—for the North America Program—based on their joint proposal, "Enabling Novel XR Experiences with Time-of-flight Sensing." 

Hae Won Lee and Jiadi Zhu, PhD students in the MIT Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS), have also been chosen as winners of the fellowship this year. The selection process included detailed research proposals and presentations, and 18 teams were selected out of 182 submissions.  

The Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship (QIF) is focused on recognizing, rewarding, and mentoring innovative PhD students across a broad range of technical research areas. QIF enables graduate students to be mentored by Qualcomm Research’s top engineers and supports them in their quest towards achieving their research goals. The QIF receives over 100 proposals each year in the US and internationally combined, and has awarded over $15 million dollars since it started in 2009 at Qualcomm’s Research Center in Silicon Valley, California.

Related Content