Six MIT researchers elected to the National Academy of Engineering for 2019

By the MIT School of Engineering

Six MIT researchers are among the 86 new members and 18 foreign associates elected to the National Academy of Engineering.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature," and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

The six elected this year include:

Richard D. Braatz, the Edwin R. Gilliland Professor of Chemical Engineering, for contributions to diagnosis and control of large-scale and molecular processes for materials, microelectronics, and pharmaceuticals manufacturing.

Gareth H. McKinley, the School of Engineering Professor of Teaching Innovation, for contributions in rheology, understanding of complex fluid dynamical instabilities, and interfacial engineering of super-repellent textured surfaces.

Robert T. Morris, a professor in the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, for contributions to programmable network routers, wireless mesh networks, and networked computer systems.

Christopher A. Schuh, the department head and the Danae and Vasilis Salapatas Professor in Metallurgy in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, for contributions to design science and application of nanocrystalline metals.

Rosalind Picard, a professor of media arts and sciences and director of affective computing research in the MIT Media Lab, for contributions to affective and wearable computing.

Christine Wang, a senior staff scientist at MIT's Lincoln Laboratory, for contributions to epitaxial crystal growth of III-V compound semiconductors and design of organometallic vapor-phase epitaxy reactors.

“My warm congratulations to the researchers inducted into the National Academy of Engineering for their outstanding contributions as leaders in their fields,” says Anantha Chandrakasan, the dean of the MIT School of Engineering and the Vannevar Bush Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. “It is fantastic to see the contributions of our faculty recognized at such a high level.”

Including this year’s inductees, 138 members of the NAE are current or retired members of the MIT faculty and staff, or members of the MIT Corporation.

Related Content