Deblina Sarkar receives Nanomaterials Young Investigator Award

Jimmy Day

Deblina Sarkar, assistant professor at MIT and founder and director of the Nano-Cybernetic Biotrek (NCB) research group at the MIT Media Lab, has received the Nanomaterials Young Investigator Award. She is one of three researchers worldwide to achieve this honor in 2023.

The awardees were chosen by a selection committee chaired by the Nanomaterials editor-in-chief, Prof. Dr. Shirley Chiang, following a review process. As an awardee, Dr. Sarkar will receive an honorarium of CHF 800, an opportunity to publish a paper free of charge in Nanomaterials, as well as an electronic certificate. 

Prof. Sarkar is selected for this award for her work integrating nanomaterials, applied physics, and biology to develop nano-electronic devices for sustainable AI, while also pursuing the integration with biological systems for therapeutic treatment of brain disorders and cancers.

Whether combating climate change to address the huge growth in AI or providing tomorrow’s non-invasive brain cancer treatments, NCB’s nano-electronic exploration is providing critical technologies to solve humanity’s most challenging issues.

Related Content